Back to the Big Easy…

11 Apr

Remember the BIG news I mentioned on Monday’s blog post? Well here it is… I am moving back to Louisiana! It is official! Time to make my way back to the land of warmer weather, crawfish boils, Abita beer, family and a slower walking pace.

This is a bittersweet moment in time as I have met some fantastic people, experienced incredible things and enjoyed seeing life in various cities over the past 4+ years. It is crazy to think my journey began just over four years ago in downtown Fort Worth, TX. I was bright-eyed, bushy-tailed and literally scared to death to take the leap and move hundreds of miles away from my family – but it was the best thing I could have ever done. Fort Worth was a beautiful, cowboy-loving city and I would move back there in a heartbeat. Between the stockyards and the hospitality of the city, I fit right in with the “little-big city” way of life. I even purchased my first pair of cowboy boots.

A year came and went and I scored the best job I ever had… so it was time to move 45 minutes East to Dallas. First, I need to thank each and every person who helped me land the job and special thanks goes out to Lynne for taking a chance on this young girl with no experience in the marketing haircare world – this job has shaped and will continue to shape my entire future. I found an industry I am passionate about and it taught me I could actually enjoy a job. I never would have thought in a million years I would have landed in a Product Development role at a top salon brand – there was no major for this type of career at LSU. But I am sure glad I ended up there. I met some of my very best friends while living and working in Dallas for two years and can’t wait to see them all together again at the wedding! But unfortunately, life moves on…

Finally, Scott made it back to the states after two looooooooooooong years in Grenada. His final landing-place… New York. So I packed my things and headed north. It has been just over a year now and I can honestly say I have experienced almost everything New York has to offer. I do still have a list of things to cross off but good news is I have a month to draw a line through each one of them. New York has brought me new, fabulous friends and helped me reconnect with some old college friends. Who would have thought three friends of mine from college would have ended up in the some neighborhood at the same time all the way in New York? I have seen so many crazy things/people/stuff in general and have grown as a professional, person and as a fashionista (I mean who wouldn’t living in New York?). I have learned to appreciate art, unique food and the ease of life in the South. And I am pretty sure I doubled the size of my wardrobe and shoe collection…

Our official move back to NOLA date is May 14th – one way ticket has been purchased. Like I stated earlier, this is bittersweet but I couldn’t be more appreciative with all the experiences I have had and the people I have met along the way. I learned exactly who I am through all of these travels and would not take a second back from any one of them.

But don’t worry! I will still be 100% on top of beauty trends because my passion for beauty is not confined to my zip code. Plus the world seems to be obsessed with Louisiana these days… between Swamp People, Big Easy Justice, My Big Redneck Vacation and Bayou Billionaires, there seems to be quite the interest in the Dirty South. What about a Real Housewives of NOLA (RHONOLA)?? We could hold a crawfish in the preview…

My love goes with you New York!

To see all the fun things I have done in New York over the past year click here.

 

2 Responses to “Back to the Big Easy…”

  1. rebalenzi April 11, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Yes yes yes!! SEAUX Excited!!!

  2. Leighanne April 11, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I love that – we could hold a crawfish! Perfect! RHONOLA, here we come!

Leave a Reply

