Happy Anniversary My Dear New York!

7 Mar

One year ago today, this little southern lady packed up her bags and 50+ pairs of shoes, and headed straight for the bright lights. A year has flown by in a blink of an eye. I have experienced so many wonderful (and not so wonderful) things in this past year, I just have to share.

First, one of my favorite parts about living in New York are the Broadway shows. I am actually disappointed in myself that I haven’t seen more by now, but I am making plans to see more! My favorite was the Book of Mormon, seriously everyone should see this show if given the opportunity. I must warn you, if you don’t have a sense of humor about religion and can’t handle profanity then do not go see this show. Remember it is by the creators of South Park. I’ve also seen (and recommend all of them) Wicked, Fantasticks, Mama Mia, Hairspray, Rain and Rent.I have yet to see a bad Broadway show. Next on the list to cross off, Avenue Q, Other Desert Cities, Lion King and Sleep No More.

Another part of living in this fabulous city is rubbing elbows with some of Hollywood’s most famous celebrities. I shopped magazines with A-Rod, laughed at Book of Mormon with Tim “The Toolman” Taylor, watched a jaw-dropping fashion show with Kelly Osbourne, Joan Rivers and Kelly Bensimon, shopped for a wedding dress with Randy from “Say Yes to the Dress”, got hit on by Aaron Carter and (the one I am most giddy over) traveled from LA to NYC with Jon Hamm – aka sexy Donald Draper.

The most insane, draw-dropping, “I have made it!” moment was when I got to go backstage during New York Fashion Week AND THEN going to see the Badgley Mischka fashion show a few months later at NYFW. I swear I had to pinch myself multiple times to make sure I wasn’t dreaming. The energy and vibes that surround Lincoln Center makes you feel like a star. From the photographers snapping photos of your outfits as you walk up the stairs to the fashionistas wearing their best/craziest outfits, it is hard to not get addicted.

Let’s not forget my romantic and life-changing trip to Cape Cod, MA. The quick weekend getaway was spent relaxing on the beach and eating delicious seafood. Scott planned the whole weekend, and little did I know he had planned the rest of our lives!

I spent a lot of time on Fashion Avenue this past year. Little known fact, I took and aced a shoe design course at the Fashion Institute of Technology. I LOVED taking the Sketching Accessories class and hopefully it will help me get one step closer to my dream of owning/designing my own shoes (who the heck knows if it will ever happen, but you only live once!). I shopped at Project Runway’s Mood Fabrics and designed two entire shoe lines. I was blessed enough to attend Badgley Mischka’s showroom to preview the new wedding dresses and play in their closest. Seriously, the most fabulous clothes I will never be able to afford but I will always dream about.

I’ve sun bathed in the Hamptons, bought a few Chanels on Canal Street and witnessed the leaves change in Central Park. I drank my way through the American Beer Festival, celebrated America’s independence at the Top of the Rock and walked the west side Highline. I’ve jammed out to Amos Lee, Citizen Cope and the Soul Rebels. I strolled the Christmas window displays on 5th Avenue, joined a bocci ball league and yelled “Hey!” with hundreds of Rangers fans. I enjoyed the high-kicks from the Rockettes, went back in time to Ellis Island and sang Merle Haggard at a Karaoke bar in China Town. I never forgot by visiting the 911 memorial and the little Chapel that stood, showed my pride by paying a personal visit to the Statue of Liberty and was asked “who are you wearing” on the infamous plane ride from NYC to LA (it was Zara). I went old school and rode a train from Grand Central, looked up at the towering Rockefeller Christmas Tree and cheered on the NYC marathoners. I shopped (multiple times) in SOHO, stood in line for a slice Grimaldi’s famous pizza and found a hidden phone booth that led to a speakeasy bar. I looked up at the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade balloons, I rode and subsequently purchased a vintage bike from a farmers market and feasted on Thanksgiving dinner with a bunch of broadway stars. I cheered on my Tigers at the famous LSU bar, Legends, I’ve seen Times Square from all angles and eaten crawfish the Boat Basin Cafe. I said “Yes to the Dress” at Kleinfelds, laughed to Gweneth Paltrow and Cee Lo Green at SNL and rang in my 26th birthday in the new Giants Stadium with Kenny Chesney, Zac Brown Band, Billy Currington and good friends.

And this is just year one of living in NYC! I am so excited to see what other big city adventures are in store for me… starting with tonight, I am headed bowling. I’m sure it will be an adventure as always!

Thank you New York for the past year – I fall more in love with you each day.

2 Responses to “Happy Anniversary My Dear New York!”

  1. Joan Mackey March 7, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    Loved reading your diary of your first year in New York. You are definitely living life to the fullest. Hope you make it back to the Big D sometime. I would love to see you again! XO Joan

  2. Lenzi March 8, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I just teared up reading this. What an amazing year you have had. And how in the heck has it been a year already?? I am so proud of you for making such a bold leap, and so happy for all that you’ve gotten to experience…which is more than most people could ever dream of. Love you friend, and while I’m so excited for your big city adventures, I need you back down South real soon!

Leave a Reply

