Free Yourself From Washing Everyday… Train Your Hair

25 Jan

Beautiful Lengths

My readers ask and I answer! Lately, a lot of readers have been reaching out to me about how to grow out their hair, and how dry shampoo fits into this goal of long, healthy hair. I previously had written a blog called Beautiful Lengths, that took you step-by-step through the right rituals to begin in order to grow hair. But, there is another ritual you should begin in addition to the four steps I laid out for you in Beautiful Lengths… Usage of the Dry Shampoo.

(What is Dry Shampoo? Check out the details here.)

Dry Shampoo Only $2.74

It is critical to not wash your hair everyday. Washing can severely damage and dry out your strands, especially if you use any sort of chemical treatment. You need to train your hair so you no longer have to shampoo, condition and style every day. Oh and did I mention it is a huge time-saver?

I know what you are thinking. You have a mindset that on the second day, hair feels and looks dirty, therefore you feel unclean. Maybe there are even some of you out there who have tried the dry shampoo and still felt dirty.  Trust me, I was just like you. I used to wash my hair every day. Now I cannot believe I used to put my hair through that routine everyday.

Day 2: Pin back Problem Areas

You can train your hair to release less oil on your non-wash days. Hair contains natural oils that quickly replenish when washed out. Which means, the more you wash the quicker the hair/scalp responds to producing more natural oils. When you slow down the process of washing, hair reduces the amount of oil being produced, resulting in less greasy hair. But this training takes time.

The first 4-6 weeks, second-day hair will be greasy – there is no way around it. Enter Dry Shampoo. Use Dry Shampoo to soak up the oil, so hair looks less greasy. Your hair will still feel dirty to you, but no one else will be able to tell a difference. And after a few weeks of using the dry shampoo you get used to the feeling on your hair/scalp.

Day 3: Sock Bun

Then you hit an ah-ha moment. I call this phenomenon the breakthrough. You decide to wear day-old hair out to an important event. An event you would have never skipped washing your hair. Once you conquer this breakthrough, you are ready to skip more days.

I only wash my hair 2-3 times a week. But I am strategic about it. I have certain go-to hair styles on certain non-wash days.

???Day 4: Wet Look Chignon???

Day 1: Freshly washed hair – style as usual

Day 2: Use Dry Shampoo just on the front pieces and pin back the problem areas with a bobby pin.

Day 3: Sock Bun it with additional Dry Shampoo usage on the front and underneath at the neck (What is a Sock Bun? Check it out here.)

If I get really brave, I will go to Day 4 and create a Wet Look Chignon with Gel. Gel will mask the oily hair because with the wet look, hair is supposed to look slick and greasy.

Head Bands Help Hide Oily

Pick a go-to hairstyle you will use on day 2 and day 3. Maybe you use the Sock Bun on day 2 until you get more comfortable with day old hair, or maybe you create a messy braid. The point is there are ways to create great looking hair, without having to be held to a long regimen of cleansing, conditioning and styling. Less washing means less damage which means less breakage which results in healthier, longer hair.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Free Yourself From Washing Everyday… Train Your Hair”

  1. Kasey January 27, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    terrific post! I feel inspired!

  2. the domestic fringe May 21, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    I washed my hair every day for years! YEARS. And, my hair is naturally dry and not oily. I was crazy and I was killing my hair. Now I wash it every 4 days. No one can even tell. I haven’t even tried dry shampoo yet, but if I did, I could probably go a week. It sounds gross, but I promise it’s not.

Leave a Reply

