News Flash: Big Buns Are In!

13 Dec

You Can Do This, I Promise!

No I am not talking about your backside, while that is a hot topic too (thanks to JLo and the Kardashians), but I was talking about an up-do. You see these beautiful images of huge buns but say to yourself, “who are we kidding, I am not Rapunzel, my bun looks puny”. Well I am here to tell you that you can create these huge buns without locking yourself in a tower. All you need is a sock, ponytail holder, a pair of scissors and a drive to always look beautiful!

1. Find a Sock – choose one that is similar to your hair color (i.e. I stole a black dress sock from Scott)

2. Cut the Toe Off– Just quickly snip the toes part at the seem, as if you were making socks that would just let your toes breath.

First Night I Rocked the Sock Bun

3. Roll Sock into Donut – Think about how your roll up stockings before you put them on, apply the same technique here.

4. Ponytail – Put hair in ponytail wherever you desire for the bun to sit (i.e. super high or down low)

5. Donut the Ponytail – Slip the sock donut over your ponytail holder (kinda like a scrunchie but just once so it is loose)

6. Pull Donut Up – Slide the sock donut up close to the end of your ponytail, but leave enough hair so you can wrap around the outside of the donut and back up through the middle.

7. Work Donut Down – work it back down the ponytail by pushing hair around and back through the middle of the sock donut until you reach your head and it feels secure. (Watch the video or check out the photo for more details)

How To Create the Perfect Bun

Voilà! You now have a big, beautiful bun!

I received a lot of compliments on the sock bun, I was told I looked like Audrey Hepburn. Even Aaron Carter liked it… which was, how do you say, unexpected and unwelcome… but nevertheless the sock bun gets noticed!

Aaron Carter Likes the Sock Bun

Video Warning: The Sock Bun Curls Secret Video is very useful, but slightly annoying – however it is worth it!
5 Responses to “News Flash: Big Buns Are In!”

  1. Lenzi December 13, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    a. adorable blog pic!
    b. had no idea that a sock was used to do this.
    c. this hairstyle is so glam on you
    d. Nick Carter wants to have your babies….errrr….you know what I mean

  2. Alicia Bergner December 15, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    LOVE THIS!!!! I am going to beg Kasey to help me attempt it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That Magical Moment When… « fromthestarswithlove - June 18, 2012

    […] I’ve been rocking this hair style paired with a pretty […]

  2. It’s a HOT one!!! | Pin It - August 1, 2012

    […] to do, what to do!!!  Off to Pinterest I went where I found the Sock Bun pin I had posted. […]

  3. Sock Bun Love | A Thunder Heart - August 22, 2012

    […] on Youtube that show how to roll up a sock bun, but I originally saw it on a Pinterest pin by Ciao Beautiful, so however you learn, there are all sorts of how-tos for […]

Leave a Reply

