I Fell in Love with NYC All Over Again

8 Nov

I'm Hooked

Just when I thought I had enough of the long commute, the inconsistent, dirty subways and the rudeness in this city… New York surprises me with stunning fall colors and insane shopping. I’m hooked on this city.

My dear friend Kasey flew into town for her first trip ever to NYC over the weekend to take our engagement photos and see the sights of the city. It was one of the best weekends I have had since I moved here back in March. We started early saturday morning by going to Grand Central to kick off the photo shoot. My vision for the Grand Central was a retro, Mad Men-isc theme. Scott wore a suit and I wore a black retro style dress, a fabulous 60’s head-piece (feathers and all) with bright coral pumps. Then we did a wardrobe change into more modern-day clothes and headed to Central Park.

Mirrors Made with Old Ceiling Tiles

 

Central park was jaw dropping. Words cannot do justice to Central Park in the fall. The bright yellow tones blended with the darker golden and orange created a painters dream. The warm contrast to my fabulous bright blue TIBI dress with a neckline full of multi-colored jewels created insane pictures. I cannot wait to see the finished photos… don’t worry I will share the photos!

7th Mile of the NYC Marathon

I must say, putting together these outfits made me feel like Rachel Zoe. I was extremely lucky to have my sweet friend Ashley (the same one who is hooking me up with Badgley Mischka Bridal shoes…. check them out here) who has an insane taste in clothes, and let me borrow her dresses. I was putting out all my options of outfits, shoes and accessories and then “editing”. So Zoe!

While taking photos at Bethesda Fountain, a group of singers and musicians began singing. It was a moment. So romantic, so spontaneous, and simply a breathtaking moment. My anger at this city began to fade away at this very moment…

Saturday night was the LSU/Bama game… which LSU won in OT. This only boosted my happiness.

Warm Colored Ribbon and Metal Necklace

Sunday morning, Kasey and I woke up early to hit SOHO for a little shopping. On the way we got a little distracted by a market in Brooklyn, where I found these beautiful large mirrors made with old ceiling tiles. Then we sat outside to people watch and eat a NY bagel. We then headed to the subway and saw the 7th mile NYC Marathon running down 4th avenue in Park Slope. We toke a few pictures then headed underground.  

After hitting a few stores, and scoring a picture perfect holiday dress from Zara, we stumbled upon a street market. We hit the jackpot on jewelry. We almost bought this woman out of all her jewelry. I scored two unique/stunning necklaces.

Classic Gold Chanel Purse

After dropping some money in SOHO, we headed back south to Canal street to find some knock off purses. Sketchy isn’t sufficient enough to describe this whole underground knockoff purse scene. People are selling them on corners of the street on sheets so if a cop comes they can quickly pick up the sheet and take off running… I know. Everyone is whispering in your ear, “Louis, Chanel… what you want…. Rolex”. The moment you are interested they walk you to another corner to meet with someone else to pick out purses from a picture. It was nuts! Needless to say, I HAD to get something, so I purchased a classic Chanel in gold.

View from the 8th Floor of the Marriott in Times Square

Sunday night we headed up to Times Square to see the lights. There is a place called the Marriott Marquis in the center of Times Square that is open to the public. You can walk right in, go up to the 8th floor and have a drink overlooking Times Square. It is the perfect way to experience Times Square, you can see everything but you are not in the hustle and bustle of it all.

Speakeasy

 

Finally, we headed back down to the Lower East Side to a speakeasy called Beauty & Essex. This restaurant/bar is in the back of a pawn shop. You want in to a room, where they actually do have things for sale such as vintage purses and old comic figures. There is a big doorman standing there that opens the door to a low-lite restaurant with to trendy for me music blaring. The food was Tapas style and delicious. A must if you ever visit NYC.

“Pawn Shop”

Needless to say I went to bed last night at 8:30…

4 Responses to “I Fell in Love with NYC All Over Again”

  1. Whit November 8, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I love everything about this post! So glad is was such a wonderful weekend! CAN’T WAIT to see the pics!

  2. linda spain November 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Thank you for showing my Kasey a weekend to remember…wish I was there!!! Can’t wait to see all she bought and here about the fun you all had. XXXOOO Kaseys Mom

  3. Ashley Smith November 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Sounds like a world-wind weekend! I can’t wait to see the pics!! I am so glad the dresses worked out!!
    Bestest,
    A

  4. Juhee November 14, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    ❤ this post! ❤ to be reminded how magical our city is and forget all the times im jaded by it.

Leave a Reply

