My Cape Cod Escape

21 Sep

Our Weekend Getaway

I am back my loyal blog readers and I have some wonderful news to share. I AM ENGAGED!! I know!! Completely out of the blue. So here are the deets:

A week ago my boyfriend suggested we take a last minute trip to Cape Cod for the weekend since our beach trip to Destin, FL was cancelled. He persuaded me by saying he would take care of everything – who can say no to that. Luckily, I got off work last minute and was ready to head to the beach.

Colony Beach

We stayed at a little place called Colony Beach in Dennis Port, MA. It was right on the beach and had a heated pool – so perfect. It was a tad bit cold to layout on the beach with the wind, but on the deck was ok when the sun was beating down. I desperately needed some sun, I don’t think my body has seen sunlight in two years.

Friday night we did the usual, fantastic seafood dinner and drinks. Saturday we spent all day on the beach relaxing. Scott made dinner reservations for 8:30 at a nice restaurant on the beach. While I was getting ready he said he heard there were these fish that you can see jumping out of the water at night and wanted to check to see if it was real. He also needed to get some sand. (Back Story: Scott collects sand from all the beaches he has visited and puts them into these glass jars. Ok I put them in glass jars because Corona bottles don’t go with my decor in the apartment.) So we walk down and I begin to question this whole “fish” thing. But right then he starts to say the sweetest things and gets down on one knee and asks me to spend the rest of my life with him. Of course I said YES! So we collected sand from the very beach that he proposed to me on. How romantic!

Getting a Tan

Then we continued to dinner but could not eat the delicious food because we were so excited. Now here comes the best part – the couple dining at the table next to us six years ago to the day got engaged at the table we were sitting. And when they got engaged the couple that was sitting next to them had gotten engaged on the same day too many years ago and to celebrate bought them a drink! So they passed on the tradition and bought us a drink! Good sign??

Where I Decided to Spend the Rest of My Life with Him

I cannot wait to share all the wonderful trials and tribulations of wedding planning! I could not be happier! And the ring is stunning – he did a fabulous job.

2 Responses to “My Cape Cod Escape”

  1. Lenzi September 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    I teared up reading this! The Corona bottles part made me laugh 🙂 So unbelievably excited for you!!!! Love you both 🙂

  2. Danielle Juneau September 21, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    So exciting and sweet!! Love it!

Leave a Reply

