Epic Fail

7 Sep

My labor day beach trip to Destin, FL was an epic fail. Thanks to tropical storm Lee, we cancelled our reservations at the beach front condo and sat inside to watch my Mom’s house on the lakefront become a small island. I was hoping I could post some wonderful pictures of my beach hair, but mother nature would not have it. So instead, I am going to share with you a little more about me. First, the good stuff about this weekend…

Going back home to Louisiana is always wonderful because I have the cutest nephew who could not be any sweeter. I took on a major “housewife” type role on Thursday. My mom and I hosted a going away bash for my Brother, Chris, his wife, Jayde and my nephew, Jackson. And at any good southern party, a lot of delicious food (and booze) is expected. So we made a party menu that consisted of deviled eggs, dipped marshmallows, cookie cups, homemade turtles, rotel dip, man dip and chicken rotel. But on top of cooking, cleaning and getting ready I told my brother I would babysit at the same time. My mom was slightly stressed, but I figured I could put Jackson to work. He made a great sous chef.

 

Unwrapping the Rollo's for the Homemade Turtles

 

Jackson Placing the Rollo's on Top of Pretzels

Needless to say, the party was a success!

I ALMOST covered my favorite foods:

– Cane’s with extra sauce (check!)

– Red Beans and Rice (check!)

– Fried Catfish (check!)

– Sauteed Crab Fingers (check!)

– Shrimp & Crawfish Pasta (check!)

– Fried Pickles (check!)

Not healthy, but it sure was delicious!

But during my food coma and playing with toy cars, there was a tropical storm slowly moving through Louisiana. My mom lives on the lakefront in Mandeville, which has a tendency to flood. Most of the houses were raised ever since Katrina came through, but her house isn’t raised too high. I have to share these pictures from the flooding of Tropical Storm Lee:

Street in Front of my Mom's House

 

Mom's Front Porch

 
My mom is now considering on raising her house a little bit higher. I had a wonderful time back home and glad I could share with my readers a little more about myself. Stay tuned for more beauty tips!
One Response to “Epic Fail”

  1. Lenzi September 7, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Love this post friend!! Jackson is the cutest! I want those pretzel rolo thingy’s! Sorry your trip got cancelled but looks like you had some great QT at home!

Leave a Reply

