Calling All Couch Potatoes

1 Aug

Couch Potato = Me

I just ran 20 minutes straight! I want to scream it to the world! Of course to most of you this is easy, but those of you who aren’t runners this blog entry is for you. You can do it too!

As a dancer growing up, I was always told running was terrible for you. It was hard on your knees and offset the “gracefulness” you learn as a ballerina. So running was never a thing of mine growing up. Except one summer, my parents decided to ship my brother and I off to a speed camp. That’s right, what was a little young lady doing at a speed camp? Mom and Dad if you are reading this – terrible idea. I hated running and avoided it at all costs. Now I am 25 (about to be 26) and I have noticed things starting to sag like my butt, arms and dare I say it, my stomach. It isn’t that I need to lose weight but I need to tone and if I do not start doing something now I will be kicking myself in the ass (literally) when I turn 30.

Couch to 5K

So why running? Well first off it is free. Yoga and Pilates, etc. are really expensive up here in NYC. Secondly, when do you ever see runners with bad bodies? Plus running tones up all muscles in your body at the same time. You do not burn many calories, but I am not looking to lose weight, just tone.

Now where to start? Obviously you cannot just pick up and run three miles on a whim when you have never run a mile in your life. Well thankfully, there is this amazing program out there called Couch to 5K. The name says it all. It really is a program to take you from being a couch potato to running 3.1 miles. The program is nine weeks long and only requires you to work out three times a week for about 30min each run. With my busy schedule this works perfectly. The program kicks off with interval running and takes you all the way to non-stop running. I just completed week five of the nine week program and am absolutely thrilled. I would recommend it to everyone.

Couch to 5K Program

Check out the full details of the program at http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml. There are also Apps available for your phones that talk to you throughout your run and keep track of your progress. I downloaded the Get Running App for $1.99. The voice offers motivation throughout your run, such as “only 60 seconds to go” and “good job, you have completed half of today’s runs”. It’s not a lot, but a little goes a long way. Also, the App allows you run outside if you choose.

I will keep you posted on my progress on the running program and feel free to let me know if you decide to pick up running! I can already tell a difference in my body. Let’s keep each other motivated!

Leave a Reply

