Keratin: Unlocking Your Hair’s Inner Beauty

30 Jul

Hair's Inner Beauty

Imagine being able to style your hair flawlessly without having to worry about frizz, or for those with extremely tight curls being able to smooth the curls down to a wave. Now imagine having these benefits that last three months without any extra effort with a straightening or curling. That is what a Salon Keratin Treatment can give your hair, along with shine and quicker styling time.

There a quite a few different salon treatments out there, but the most common and highly rated. and Nicole Riche’s favorite, is the Brazilian Blowout. It ranges from $200-$500 depending on hair length and thickness. You are starting to see the cost come down closer to $200 because so many players are coming into the market.

Brazilian Blowout

Keratin is on e of the main proteins that make up the structure of your hair and what also protects your hair from damage. Keratin can also be found in your skin and nails. You lose keratin overtime through environmental factors, heat styling and age. These hair treatments add Keratin back into hair to create healthy looking hair. Hair is also made up of structural bonds that create either waves, curls or keeps hair straight. The Keratin Treatments break these bonds and reset them in a straighter/smoother structure.

The process is quite long and I highly recommend going to an experienced professional. First the stylist must throughly cleanse your hair with a deep cleaning shampoo to remove all styling product residue, dirt and oil. The stylist cleansed my hair three times. Next, the stylist blow dries your hair about 80% of the way. The stylist then begins applying the treatment to 1 inch sections of hair until your hair is fully coated. The stylist when then take a special flat iron (and by special I mean extremely hot) and run it through the 1 inch sections of hair. She ran the flat-iron through my hair about three times, but for those of you with thicker, curly/coarse hair the stylist would run the straightener over it more times. Plus the more the straightener runs through the straighter your hair will be – I didn’t want to lose all of my volume and bounce so I requested her to keep it to a minimum. Now after all of this carefully straightening, you then shampoo your hair once again. Then the stylist blow dries your hair and you see the incredible results immediately. My hair was super shiny, straight and frizz free. It was unbelievable – and all we did was blow dry. All and all the process took about 3 hours, but was worth it. I could now let my hair air dry and not have any frizz or curl, but I was still able to achieve waves by using a curl stick – just frizz free waves which is even better!

Brazilian Blowout Results

Of course nothing this good comes without a price. Over the past year there has been a lot of criticism around these treatments. Most of the Keratin Treatments contain formaldehyde and can cause irritation. Recently, the US government has stated that formaldehyde is a carcinogenic and is deemed unsafe. I experienced a little bit of eye burning during the process, similar to a reaction you have when cutting up an onion, but that was all. In extreme cases, death has occurred with improper ventilation in the salon. But good news! There are products on the market that do not contain formaldehyde, such as Brazilian Keratin Zero.

Brazilian Blowout Zero

Now I will state that this process isn’t a way to restore hair’s health. Any type of chemical process you use on hair is damaging, but I feel that the damage is offset by the fact that you will use less heat on your hair therefore preventing heat damage. My hair grew faster because I didn’t experience the breakage from using the straightener and blow dryer. However, I did notice my hair was oiler with the treatment, I could no longer go two days without washing, but it wasn’t a pain because I didn’t have the added chore of styling out my hair.

As with any chemical process, maintenance is important. After receiving one of these treatments you need to stay clear from shampoos and conditioners with sulfates and salts/sodium chloride.  The Brazilian Keratin Treatment comes with a special shampoo and conditioner that contains Keratin to help extend the life of the treatment, however I would save the money on these and just use a salt and sulfate free shampoo. You can use your normal styling products. For those of you who color your hair, I recommend coloring before you receive the treatment because the treatment will help lock in the color.

Love the Results!

My Advice: If you are sick of your frizzy hair and have the money to spend, I would say go for it. The treatment lasts about 3-4 months, but you still see effects into the 6th month. I would get the treatment again if I had the extra dough to spend, unfortunately I have an addiction to shoes.

 

Leave a Reply

