The Cure for the City Life with No Sun

15 Jul

The Woes of Big City Life

I have been in New York about four months now and one of things I miss most from the South is getting a glowing tan by the side of the pool and drinking sweet tea vodka. Since I am not rich yet, I am not one of the lucky folk here in New York that can afford an apartment with a pool and I can’t bring myself to go to a public pool – just can’t do it. Usually, by this time of year I would be at least five shades darker and ready for the mini skirts and tank tops. Unfortunately my pale skin has yet to see some serious sun time. So in a panic I went and purchased a couple of these moisturizing lotions with self tanner.

There are a variety of lotions with a hint of self tanner available in the stores today. I prefer these lotions to regular self tanners because the level of self tanner in the lotions is lower which prevents you from making an error and getting those ugly streaks! The color is gradual so you don’t go from pale white to an orange in a couple of hours like with self tanner. I also find that the lotions give off a less orangy tone and the offending odor is basically non-existent.

Jergens Natural Glow Revitalizing Moisturizer

I purchased one of the best-selling moisturizes on the market, Jergens Natural Glow Revitalizing Daily Moisturizer. Jergens claims to give you natural looking color in just three days (full results in seven) that lasts twice as long as leading sunless tanners. Jergens also provides skin with Vitamin E, antioxidants and effective moisturizers. This one was my favorite of the two. I found that it gave me noticeably darker skin in just one day. The fragrance is quite pleasant, the fresh crisp/fresh notes blended with the familiar smell of sun tan lotion delighted me. Bonus, the lotion leaves a little bit of gold shimmer on your skin – not too much but just enough.

Hempz A Touch of Summer Lotion

The second moisturizer I tried was Hempz a Touch of Summer. A Touch of Summer is made from 100% Pure Organic Hemp Seed Oil and gives a subtle enhancement of skin’s natural color. This lotion, like Jergens, provide nourishment, hydration and conditioning. Hempz gave me obvious darker skin within the first three days, and I enjoyed using this lotion as well. I did notice, my tan did not last as long as it did when I used the Jergens. The fragrance was nice, but not my favorite. The fragrance is a sweet, berry blend with a fresh note.

My Advice: Go with the Jergens. It smells nicer, and is cheaper. You get great results and it is much safer than tanning beds. Jergens now offers a quicker formulation and one that is in an aerosol mousse form. Enjoy!

One Response to “The Cure for the City Life with No Sun”

  1. Lenzi July 19, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    I bought a Nivea brand a couple of weeks ago and I’m really loving it too! Might have to try the Jergins for sure!

Leave a Reply

