The Holy Grail: Victoria’s Secret Textured Hair

12 Jul

Sexy Victoria's Secret Hair

I have done it! I have learned to replicate the iconic Victoria’s Secret Model’s tousled waves. And it is all due to the final piece of the puzzle that just hit the market, the Bumble & bumble texture (un)dressing creme. I am crazy about this product! Not only does the product work wonders, it smells fresh and hi-end while the packaging screams fashion.

But back to the task at hand – how to create these flowy, sexy waves. But first I must say, from being in the hair biz for a few years and talking with many stylists, the cut is the foundation. If you have a terrible cut, it will not work. Layers is key to play up the voluminous and full look.

Suave Professionals Rosemary and Mint Shampoo

Step 1: Use a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. It is important to keep hair moiturized to prevent hair from becoming dry and dull. I suggest Suave Professionals Rosemary and Mint Shampoo and Conditioner. Suave really? YES! Suave Professionals is proven to work as well as top salon brands, such as Aveda. In my opinion it works better than Aveda.

TIGI's Catwalk Your Highness Root Boost

Step 2: Use a Root Boosting Spray to give you lift at the roots. I use TIGI’s Catwalk Your Highness Root Boost. This product comes out like a mousse so it is easy to spread throughout roots. Be sure to get all areas of the hair that tend to go flat.

Step 3: You need to make sure your locks are touchable and shiny! I suggest MorocconOil. Boy is this a miracle product! I have been a loyal user for four years now and I have yet to find anything better. Pour oil into hands and run through hair mid-shaft down through ends.

MorocconOil

Step 4: Blow dry your hair. I suggest blow drying upside down to reinforce volume and root lift. Once hair is dry, keep hair upside down and use the cool air setting to cool your roots. The cool air helps to close the cuticle, locking your style in place

TIGIPro Fat Curl Stick

Step 5: Convert your old curling iron and get a curl stick. I cannot express how superior a curl stick is to a regular old curling iron. Curl sticks were a Stylist’s best kept secret, until recently. Conair began selling a Curl Wand in the mass market for $44.99. I use TIGIPro Fat Curl Stick that retails for $200. Next, you need to section off layers of your hair. Think of hair as three layers, a bottom a middle and a top. Start with the bottom layer and clip the middle and top of your hair up. Next grab about an inch of hair and wrap it around the hot curl stick, using the part of the hair closer to the root around the fattest part of the curl stick. Hold for a few seconds and release. I then immediately brush my fingers through the freshly curled strand to loosen up the tight curl. Repeat for each layer of hair and do not be afraid to grab different sized strands – the messier the better!

TIGI's Catwalk Your Highness Firm Hold Hairspray

Step 6: Hairspray! You HAVE to use a firm hairspray to hold your wave in, without the hairspray you hair will fall flat. I use TIGI’s Catwalk Your Highness Firm Hold Hairspray. This hairspray will be sure to lock your hair in place. I prefer to spray my hair upside down – remember it is all about the volume. Don’t worry, once you flip over your hair you might have a flashback to the 80’s, but I promise you it will fall. If you find that you need a little extra hold, feel free to spray each layer before you use the curl stick.

Bumble & bumble Texture (un)dressing Creme

Step 7: Whip out the texture cream! I use the new Bumble & bumble Texture (un)dressing creme. I use about a nickel size amount and rub in-between my hands. I then flip over my hair and scrunch the texture creme into my hair. Feel free to use more to gain the end look you want.

Now if only I could figure out to get a Victoria’s Secret Model’s Body, I’d be set!

One Response to “The Holy Grail: Victoria’s Secret Textured Hair”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hairstylist Jobs – Hair Ideas for 2013 | Beauty Nine To Five - January 1, 2013

    […] Zoe Fall 2012 RTW 2. Carolina Herrera Spring 2012 RTW via maststyle 3. Alessandra Ambrosio via Ciao Beautiful 4. Blake Lively via Gallery Femmes 5. Gwen Stefani via Daily Makeover 6. Kate Hudson via Secret […]

Leave a Reply

