Best Skin of My Life (I Hope)

17 Jun

Clarisonic Mia with Box and Face Wash

I recently was given the Clarisonic Mia as a gift. I had heard about these electronic, skin cleansing brushes before and actually seriously debated whether or not to purchase the Olay Pro X cleansing brush. Seriously, I must have picked the Olay brush up five times during a single trip to Rite Aid.

A little background for those of you who are not familiar with these new facial cleansers. Over the past few years electronic facial brushes have become increasingly popular (and expensive) but promises deeper cleaning, smaller pores and healthier skin. Clarisonic has quickly become the lead manufacturer in this category. Clarisonic offers three brush options, the Classic (the original) for $195 and has two speeds, the Plus for $225 and has three speeds and the newest brush, Mia for $149 which offers one speed. Clarisonic recommends that you change the brush head every three to four months for best results. The various brushes include Normal, Sensitive, Delicate, Deep Pore and Body and cost $25 each. And of course, Clarisonic offers various skin cleansers to go along with these brushes – but for me it is about the brush, I already have my favorite cleanser.

The Mia is considered the “new and compact” brush “for cleansing at home and on the go”. My favorite selling point on the box reads “As little as one minute a day, for the best skin of your life.” The brush claims to reduce oily areas, dry patches an blemishes and that fine lines and wrinkles appear reduced. When reading this, a red flag goes up for the word “appear”. Being in the beauty biz this means that your fine lines and wrinkles will not be reduced and I highly doubt it will even appear reduced.

Clarisonic Mia Blue

Clarisonic Mia Brush

I have been using the Mia for the past week and I haven’t noticed a reduction in fine lines or my blemishes. I have always had acne and was briefly on Accutane. While my acne is very subtle now, I am 26 and still breaking out occasionally. However, the Mia makes my skin feel amazing, super soft and very clean. I even tried a test and washed my face with my hands and face wash then used the brush to see if it would remove any leftover makeup, and it did!

My Recommendation:                                                                                                                     If you feel the need for a deeper clean, this product would get the job done. But since the cost is so high, even for the Mia, I would suggest going the cheaper route and trying out the Olay Pro X. The brush does make the chore of face cleansing a little more exciting!

Leave a Reply

